I hate the Bloody Queen

One of my oldest and fondest punk rock memories comes from SCTV. The Queenhaters made a big impression on me, as did all of SCTV. Speakeasy eventually covered this fine number.

We also parodied it. We found a cheap golden bust of Elvis in a variety store. I hate the Bloody Queen became I hate the Bloody King. We smashed the bust to bits. Busted it, if you will. Ahh, it was glorious.

To make things even better, my friend the Maddog got me this season of SCTV for my birthday. I got to pass the legend of the Queenhaters onto my girls and the love it! I thought they were just being polite and hanging out with me but the next day they asked if they could watch SCTV again. Glorious!

Thank you, Maddog! Thank you, Rockin’ Mel!

No Responses to “I hate the Bloody Queen”

Leave a Reply

